All News

Will the sun shine on the North Yorkshire Classic Rally?

The revised first round of the 2018 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship is the North Yorkshire Classic Rally. Clerk of the Course, Roger Burkill, tells me there has been another three of four inches of snow this weekend so the already saturated Vale of York is going to be very wet indeed so make sure your cars are well and truly water proof.

Last year’s winner Darell Staniforth will lead the field away in his Mini Cooper S, ably navigated by daughter Nicky, who will no doubt be feeling a little pressure at the head of the field.

James Griffiths and James Howell are next up in their 1275GT Mini, who last year missed the win to Darell and Les McGuffog by just 1 second after a furthest cleanest decision on Regularity penalties, so it could not have been much closer. The “James duo” are due a win soon, so maybe this year lady luck will be on their side.

Matthew Vokes has kindly “volunteered” to host the Q and A session after the event while results are being prepared, so make sure you make the most of his knowledge at the finish. Ian Crammond and Matthew in the 280SL are also long overdue for a win so maybe they will be lucky this time too.

As always it is very difficult to make any predictions on the overall result but Paul Crosby and Andy Pullan are on great form so would probably be the bookies favourites at the moment.

The critical path for me on this rally is to find someone to write a 500 word article for the Old Stager magazine by 8.00am on Monday morning. I have asked some of the local competitors if they can help, but if they are not available, I would welcome any other entrants out there if they have the time and inclination so please let me know if you can.

Here are the top ten

1, Darell Staniforth & Nicky Staniforth, M1, Mini Cooper S

2, James Griffiths & James Howell, M2, Mini 1275GT

3, Howard Warren & Iain Tullie, M1, Porsche 911

4, John Abel & Niall Frost, M1, Sunbeam Tiger

5, Paul Crosby & Andy Pullan, M2, Porsche 911

6, Ian Crammond & Matthew Vokes, M1, Mercedes Benz 280SL

7, Dave Leadbetter & Cath Woodman, M2, BMW 2002

8, John Haygarth & Robert Hargreaves, M2, Opel Kadett Rallye

9, Thomas Bricknell & Roger Bricknell, M4, VW Golf GTi

10, Richard Isherwood & Ian Canavan, M4, Nissan Stanza

The event is once again based at Hawkhills near Easingwold which provide probably the best start and finish facilities for the whole championship, usually with free tea, coffee and biscuits and a decadent calorie building cake usually appears, but we will have to wait and see J

Below is a selection of pictures from last year’s event by Tony North.

See you in sunny Yorkshire