All News

Will it be sunshine and smiles again in Yorkshire?

Round 3 of the 2017 Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship, The Ilkley Jubilee takes place this Sunday 9th April. All the regular championship competitors are back in action this weekend. Surely, it’s time for Simon Mellings and Ryan Pickering to take the top spot, and no doubt they will be trying very hard, so let’s hope the Astra’s cooling system is sorted. It’s good to see Andrew Buzzard/Robb Lyne back in action after their head gasket failure on The Tour of Cheshire, but I think the pair to watch is John Haygarth/Bob Hargreaves in the rapid Opel Kadett.

The championship leaders James Griffiths/James Howell and Martin Neal/Richard Dix are tied on 100 points so whoever comes out in front on Sunday should take the lead; watch this space!

There is an interesting partnership with Nick Pullan and Ian Canavan in Nick’s Hillman Imp so no doubt they will be giving Ken Jones/Charles Hughes and Stephen Owens/Ian Mitchell a run for their money.

While in the Novice class Peter Williams/Andy Darlington will be battling with Les Andrew/Nick Middleton. Newcomer to the championship, Andre Scruton, has another new navigator, David Irwin on the maps and will be looking for another good result following a good showing on the North Yorkshire Classic.

The post-rally Q and A session will be hosted by Matthew Vokes, so look for details of where and when on the Noticeboard at Signing-On

The winning navigator from the North Yorkshire Classic Rally, Les McGuffog, is the Assistant Clerk of Course on the Ilkley Jubilee and will be partnering the 2015 HRCR Clubmans Championship driver, Steve Entwistle, in Paddy Hopkirk’s Mini Cooper as Car 0, so if you are out marshalling or spectating keep an eye out for them.

So the top ten are

1, Matt Warren & Andy Pullan,                 M2,       1973 Ford Escort

2, Howard Warren & Paul Bosdet,           M1,        1965 Porsche 911

3, Simon Mellings & Ryan Pickering,      M4,       1984 Vauxhall Astra GTE

4, John Abel & Leigh Powley,                    M2,       1974 Ford Escort RS2000

5, Pete Tyson & Neil Harrison,                  M2,       1968 Mini Cooper S

6, Darell Staniforth & John Youd,            M1,        1967 Morris Mini Cooper S

7, Ian Crammond & Matthew Vokes,      M2,       1968 Mercedes Benz 280SL

8, James Griffiths & James Howell,         M2,       1973 Austin Mini 1275 GT

9, Jim Deacon & David Taylor,                 M1,        1962, Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint Coupe

10, Andrew Buzzard & Robb Lyne,           M1,        1967, Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTV.


While after 2 rounds of the 2017 Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship here are the class leaders.


Pts        Drivers                                           Class                   Navigators      Pts

91           David Barker                                   M1                        David Killeen         91

100        James Griffiths                               M2=                     James Howell       100

100        Martin Neal                                     M2=                     Richard Dix           100

90          Keith Davis                                      M3                        Henry Carr            90

47          Simon Mellings                               M4                        Ryan Pickering     47

68          Gareth Hockridge                          E1                          Janette Dwelly      65

77           Paul Davis                                        E2                         Dave Boyes            89

61           Bob Ward                                         E3                         Karl Ellis               61

93          Richard Isherwood                        E4                         Ian Canavan         93

64          Phil Wood                                        N1                         Iain Miller             64

49          Graham Richardson                      N2                        Anji Martin           50

75           Les Andrew                                      N3                       Nick Middleton   75

45          Geoff Dean                                       N4                        tba?

Current leader of the Amazon Cars Challenge Cup is Les Andrew, MGB GT with Stephen Owens, Porsche 911 just one point behind.

Below is a selection of photographs from last year’s event provided by Tony North.

See you in “sunny” Yorkshire


PS I’ve updated the points table again, and it may be found in the “Clubmans” section of the website.