All News

Round One – AGBO Preview

Mintex HRCR Stage Masters Challenge 2019 

A new season and a new challenge awaits the 30 registered crews as the 2019 curtain-raiser is finally upon us, with the Owen Motor Club Jasper’s Bakery AGBO stages providing an exciting first round of the campaign.


The popular one-day historic ONLY event offers some smooth but challenging stages – with the infamous water splash, that caused engine failures on most of the Vauxhall GTE’s on the 1987 RAC Rally, being used on at least two of the stages.

The rally is a fantastic event for spectators who can see all 10 stages on offer totaling some 28 miles without walking too far into the spectacular grounds of Weston Park.


Leading contenders who will be looking for podium places include Mike Simpson and Dale Gibbons in their Ford Escort RS2000, they were close to winning the overall championship last year and are looking at going one better in 2019.


It’s not clear yet when we will see reigning category one champions and overall 2018 winners Ken Davies and Alan Jones who competed on at least 20 events in 2018 including the Silver Fern Rally in New Zealand and the Midnight Sun Rally in Sweden.


There are crews which will try and unlock the Escort dominance in previous years and that includes an intriguing battle in Category three where we welcome back 2017 class winner Stuart Anderson who will be out in the ex-works Vauxhall Chevette. In a similar car will be brothers Doug and Mike Harrison who have decided to retire the Lancia Fulvia from competitive action for the more powerful and newer Chevette.


The event comprises of ten stages in total, 5 pairs run in different ways with the ford used on two of them, and it will take around an hour a stage with the action lasting until late afternoon.


Spectators are welcomed, car parking is within the grounds of Weston Park, using the park entrance on the A5 at Weston under Lizard. The gate will be manned and there is a charge of £10 per car, which will be collected by Weston Park staff. A proportion of this will be donated to West Midland Air Ambulance.


First car leaves the start line at 08:01 am