All News

Matt Warren and Andy Pullan still leading the field.

Picture by Tony North

The second round of the 2016 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship, the North Yorkshire Classic Rally, was won by Matt Warren and Andy Pullan, beating Howard Warren & Iain Tullie by 37 seconds.

Once again there was a full entry for the seventh running of this event with the current organising team ably led by Clerk of the Course, David Ruddock. With 12 special tests and five Regularities, the last being plot ‘n’ bash with ten intermediate time controls, the event was a fine test of skill for all the competitors. With nine different vehicle makes in the top ten it highlights the variety of cars being campaigned this year; the top ten being.

1, Matt Warren & Andy Pullan, Escort, 25.09

2, Howard Warren & Iain Tullie, 911, 25.46

3, John Abel & Martyn Taylor, Tiger, 26.19

4, Simon Harris & Matthew Fowle, Golf, 27.18

5, Jim Deacon & David Taylor, Giulia, 28.02

6, Duncan Wild & Steve Skepper, Mini, 28.22

7, Dave Leadbetter & Cath Woodman, 2002, 29.01

8, Ollie Mellor & Martin Phaff, Sunbeam, 29.15

9, Simon Frost & Niall Frost, PV544, 30.19

10, Paul Davis & Roger Bricknell, RS2000, 30.45


Simon and Niall Frost collected the Expert award while Peter Williams and Andy Darlington won the Novice award driving a Volvo 131 and achieving 17th overall.

A full listing of the championship points table appears in the Clubmans section of the HRCR website.

Notable retirees included Roger & Leigh Powley who pulled out at the start with a vibration problem, Mike & Matthew Vokes having a problem with the sump on their Ginetta, and then Simon Mellings & Ryan Pickering ran out of brakes in their Mini.

No doubt they will all be working hard to be prepared for Round 3, The Ilkley Jubilee in three weeks time.

Meanwhile entries have opened for the Hughes Rally 2016 so please go to their website at and follow the link to Entries.

Ian Doble, Clubmans Coordinator