All News

John Haygarth and David Taylor win East Anglian Classic

The East Anglian Classic was the fourth round of the 2018 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship including the HRCR Amazon Cars Challenge Cup, and was indeed a closely fought battle. The event was well received by the crews who praised the well balanced format of no nonsense Regularities and the traditional East Anglian airfield tests.

Once again Ian Crammond and Matthew Vokes in their Mercedes Benz 280SLwere the bridesmaids after a day long battle with the winning crew of John Haygarth and David Taylor in an Opel Kadette Rallye, although they did win the HRCR Amazon Cars Challenge Cup as some recompense. Ian and Matthew led the field on the Regularities, although Simon Mellings and Henry Carr were only one second behind with John and David a further 22 down. On the Tests Haygarth/Taylor beat John Ruddock and Roger Burkill, Escort Mexico, but an uncharacteristic navigational error by the latter crew meant they missed out on a top placing.

Best of the championship Expert crews were Mark Goodwin and Anthony Davies, Triumph Dolomite Sprint with a fine 12th overall, while Jon Dunning and Suzanne Barker, Alfa Romeo Giulia GTV, were 11th overall just missing out on a top ten placing by 11 marks. Another crew with an excellent result were Andre Scruton, Porsche 9911T, this time navigated by John Youd to 15th overall, while the best Novice crew were Ken and Sarah Binstead, MGB Roadster who finished a very credible 17th overall followed in 18th by other newcomers to the championship Dominic Hodge and Peter Raine, Porsche 924.

With thanks to Andy Manston of MandHPhotography for the pictures below;

The top ten were

1, John Haygarth and David Taylor, M2, Opel Kadette Rallye, 745

2, Ian Crammond and Matthew Vokes, M1, Mercedes Benz 280SL, 763

3, Simon Mellings and Henry Carr, M4, Nissan Stanza, 778

4, Thomas Bricknell and Roger Bricknell, M4, VW Golf GTi, 798

5, James Griffiths and James Howell, M2, Austin Mini 1275GT, 836

6, Gavin Rogers and Carrie Rogers, M2, Reliant Scimitar, 839

7, Rachel Vesty and Owen Turner, Austin Mini, 876

8, Dave Leadbetter and Cath Woodman, M2, BMW 2002, 878

9, Nick Bloxham and Richard Crozier, M2, Ford Escort Mexico, 888

10, John Peterson and Bob Blows, Austin Mini Cooper S, 939

At last I feel the 2018 championship is underway and hotting-up, and Gill and I are looking forward to The Ross Traders in July.