All News

The Hughes Historic Rally, round #5

Howard Warren and Iain Tullie will lead the field away on The Hughes Rally, the 5th round of the 2017 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship, followed by Ian Crammond and Matthew Vokes and current championship leaders James Griffiths and James Howell. Simon Mellings and Ryan Pickering will be aiming for top honours since the organisers have amended the event Regulations to allow Category 4 cars to be eligible for overall awards. So as always it will be tight at the top.

The Hughes organising team have made tremendous efforts this year to create an event worthy of championship status including the ever popular Mereworth Woods, perhaps as both a test venue and an off road Regularity so it’s sure to be an entertaining days sport for everyone.


The current leader of the HRCR Amazon Cars CHALLENGE CUP is Les Andrew, but with him not entered there are plenty of points to be gained for the other challengers, perhaps Peter Engel who was 9th overall on the previous round, The Leukaemia, will collect top points or perhaps Seren Whyte and her little Standard 10 if they have braved the M25.

So the top ten seeds are

1, Howard Warren & Iain Tullie, M2, Porsche 911

2, Ian Crammond & Matthew Vokes, M2, M-B 280SL

3, James Griffiths & James Howell, M2, Mini 1275GT

4, Simon Mellings & Ryan Pickering, M4, Toyota MR2

5, John Abel & Cath Woodman, M2, Escort RS2000

6, Martin Neal & Richard Dix, M2, Escort Mexico

7, Andrew Buzzard & Robb Lyne, M1, Giulia Sprint GTV

8, Jim Deacon & David Taylor, M1, Giulia Sprint Coupe

9, Keith Davis & Henry Carr, M3, MGB GT

10, Paul Hernaman & “Crow”, M2, Porsche 911


A selection of photographs from last year’s event are below with thanks to Andy Manston