All News

Howard and Iain win the Silver Jubilee Leukaemia

With 16 tests and 19 IRTCs the 25th running of the Leukaemia Historic Rally, this year re-branded as the Silver Jubilee Leukaemia Historic Rally, and the 4th round of the 2017 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship, was won by Howard Warren and Iain Tullie in their Porsche 911 with John Abel and Niall Frost, Escort RS 2000 close behind. The new championship leaders, James Griffiths and James Howell, Mini 1275GT were third.

There were six historic crews all within 53 seconds from 2nd to 7th overall which shows just how close and competitive this event was. Ian Crammond and Matthew Vokes suffered a mysterious misfire towards the end of the rally while still challenging for the lead and this thwarted their potential podium finish.

The Amazon Cars Challenge Cup was won by Peter Engel in his Golf GTi, narrowly beating Rob Henchoz, being “furthest cleanest” by 1 second on the first test and/or 4 seconds closer at the first ITC.

The championship has a clear leading driver at the moment with James Griffiths on 199, but there is still a tie for the top navigators spot between James Howell and Richard Dix also both on 199 points.

Ken Jones, E2, MGB GT, is the leading Expert driver on 156 points, while Roger Bricknell, E2, is the leading Expert navigator on 161 points.

In the Novice class Les Andrew and Nick Middleton, MGB GT, N3, lead on 145 points which also gives Les the lead in the Amazon Cars Challenge Cup.

A particular mention for the novice crew of Stephen and Debbie Spiers who have had a fraught time since joining the championship, finally achieving a finish on this event, and not last, so “ very well done” especially to Debbie for persevering with the navigation after a rather disastrous start.

The Hagerty Insurance Spirit of the Rally award went to Clive and Anji Martin who have marshalled on three events now while their car is being fettled. They turned up for this one only to be told there was no requirement, but then were asked to help out on the penultimate Test at Chepstow racecourse, so not quite a wasted trip.

The detailed results may be found on the Rallyroots website

The top ten historic crews were,

1, Howard Warren & Iain Tullie, Porsche 911, M2, 28:16s

2, John Abel & Niall Frost, Escort RS 2000, M2, 30:00s

3, James Griffiths & James Howell, Mini 1275GT, M2, 30:04s

4, Ian Crammond & Matthew Vokes, Mercedes Benz 280SL, M2, 30:08s

5, Darell Staniforth & Les McGuffog, Mini Cooper, M1, 30:22s

6, Gavin Rogers & Carrie Rogers, Scimitar GTE, M2, 30:23s

7, Simon Mellings & Karl Ellis, Toyota MR2, M4, 30:53

8, Barry Quibell & Pete Johnson, Escort, E2, 31:27

9, Worth Birkill & David Harris, Morris Mini,M1, 32:14s

10, Stephen Johnson & Richard Dix, Escort RS2000, M2, 32:20s