All News

Guy Woodcock and Ryan Pickering dominate on the Devils Own

The 37th Devils Own Rally was the final round of the 2017 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship and was won in very convincing style by Guy Woodcock and Ryan Pickering in a mk2 Escort RS2000. The consensus of opinion at the finish was full of praise for the organising team of Kevin Savage and Martyn Taylor and the team members from the Kirkby Lonsdale Motor Club. This was a gruelling, full on, rally from start to finish which left many seasoned competitors fallen by the wayside. James Griffiths and James Howell being particularly noteworthy as they spent some time helping the stricken crew of Simon and Niall Frost after their Clan Crusader slid off the road into a river leaving them very wet and bedraggled and the car possibly requiring a crane to retrieve it! James and James were presented with the Hagerty Spirit of the Rally award for their fine efforts as it no doubt cost them a top ten placing.

So this means Matt Warren has taken the honours for the second year and is a very deserving winner of the 2017 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship driver’s title while Ryan Pickering has consolidated his lead and convincingly won the navigator’s title.

Howard Warren was unable to find a navigator for the event, so could not ward off the charge from Matt, but I think this may have been a blessing after seeing the swollen condition of his hand after the Devon Classic last weekend.

The Amazon Cars Challenge Cup award went to Les Andrew in his MGB GT who has also won the series.

This was certainly a demanding finale to the championship which has been closely fought during the year and the top ten were.



1, Guy Woodcock and Ryan Pickering, M3, Ford Escort mk2 RS2000, 12:45s

2, Graeme Cornthwaite and Ali Procter, M1, Morris Mini, 17:22s

3, Matt Warren and Andy Pullan, M2, Ford Escort mk1, 18:16s

4, Nick Bloxham and Richard Crozier, M2, Ford Escort mk1, 18:56s

5, Richard Isherwood and Ian Canavan, M4, Nissan Stanza Jubilee, 19:37s

6, Paul Bloxidge and John Youd, M2, Porsche 911 Carrera 2.7, 19:43s

7, James Pete Tyson and Neil Harrison, M2, Mini Cooper S, 19:46s

8, Russell Smith and Dan Harrison, M3, Triumph Dolomite Sprint, 20:28s

9, John Haygarth and Bob Hargreaves, M2, Opel Kadette Rallye, 22:08s

10, Simon Harris and Matthew Vokes, M4, VW Golf GTi, 22:55s

Below are a selection of pictures from Tony North.

I shall publish points early next week for everyone to look at and then write the article on the event for Old Stager, so that’s why I’ve not given much away in this “blog”.