All News

Cream of points available in Devon

With late entries from Matt Warren/Andy Pullan and Simon Mellings/Nick Cooper the competition for points at the top of the championship is getting tense. There are now 21 entries with 15 of them registered in the National B, 2017 HRCR Hagerty Insurance Clubmans Road Rally Championship with six of the top crews chasing points for position in the table.

Andy Ballantyne and Geoff Gibson with the team from the South Hams Motor Club have put in a great deal of effort to create an event suitable for Novices and Masters alike and I think it will be a fitting event for the championship. With a few select crews deciding to make the journey south to enter with the potential reward of excellent points from a smaller entry, the Novices in particular are bound to make some headway on their peers.

Harvey Steele and Martin Pitt, Volvo 144, make a welcome return and are sure to give the current Novice crews a run for their money. Phil Wood has fixed his Volvo P1800 after the HERO Challenge last weekend and will have a new navigator, Gary Frostick, on the maps trying his first National B Regularity Rally. While regulars Andy and Ros Simpson have repaired their Mini after rear suspension failure last weekend.

Documentation takes place at Cullompton on Saturday morning with the rally starting around mid-day, followed by a meal break about five o’clock and then finishing after twilight regularities about 9.00pm. It will be a full day.

With only 15 registered championship crews the last one home can still gain 36 position points, so well worth the trip.

The entry includes

46, Matt Warren and Andy Pullan, Ford Escort

47, Howard Warren and Iain Tullie, Porsche 911

48, Paul Crosby and Ryan Pickering, Porsche 911

49, Ian Crammond and Matthew Vokes, M-B 280SL

50, Keith Davis and Henry Carr, MGB GT

51, Geoff Twigg and Peter Blackett, Mini Cooper S

52, Cliff England and Peter Rushforth, Triumph 2000

53, Thomas Bricknell and Roger Bricknell, Golf Gti

54, Seren Whyte and Elise Whyte, Standard 10

55, Keith Grant and Mervyn Brake, Volvo 122s

tba, Simon Mellings and Nick Cooper, Toyota MR2

With thanks to Tony Large for the selection of photographs from last year’s event.

Version 5 of the Championship points table is also on the website now.

See you there