All News

2017 Mintex old STAGER Championship incorp the Mini Sport Mini Cup: Solway Historic Rally

2017 Mintex old STAGER Asphalt Historic Rally Championship incorporating the Mini Sport Mini Cup & Mini Sport Junior Mini Cup

Round 4: Solway Coast Historic Rally

Title: Ray Cunningham/Jared Gill win the Solway Coast Historic Rally

Ray Cunningham/Jared Gill in their Mini Cooper S took a start to finish victory on the Solway Coast Historic Rally. Second place went to Championship and Mini Sport Mini Cup leader Clive King/Anton Bird also in a Mini Cooper S and rounding off the top 3 were Ian Clare/Antony Elkes in their Mini.

The early stages were dry with Ray Cunningham and Colin McDowell setting a cracking pace at the front of the field with Clive King in third. First retirement of the day were Rick Ford/Neil MacDonald who hit pot hole sending them into the scenery from which they had to be recovered. Paul Price/James Seymour hit the same hole which damaged their oil cooler also putting them out of the event. Colin McDowell’s push for victory came to an end before halfway with a broken transmission which promoted Clive King to second place.

The afternoon rain made conditions very slippery with many crews having big moments but the top three all made it through safely to the finish where, for the second time this year Ray Cunningham took the overall honours in both the old STAGER Championship and Mini Sport Mini Cup.

From the top of the ranges, on a clear day you can clearly see the Isle of Man, the venue for the next 2 rounds of the old STAGER Championship and Mini Sport Mini Cup. With competitors from the UK, Ireland and Japan it’s shaping up to be another classic event for the championship and Mini Cup.


Picture from Sideways media